Northern Ireland Clinical Excellence Awards Committee

Clinical Excellence Awards are given to recognise and reward the exceptional personal contribution of consultants who show commitment to achieving the delivery of high quality care to patients and to the continuous improvement of Health and Social Care.

The awards

There are 12 levels of award. Lower awards (steps 1-8) are made by local (employer) committees. These primarily reward outstanding contributions to local service delivery and priorities. Higher awards are recommended by the Northern Ireland Clinical Excellence Awards Committee (NICEAC). For higher awards, contributions at regional, national and international level are important.

Self-nomination is the only method of application within the scheme. Consultants who have at least three year’s experience at consultant level can apply for a local award, and, for higher awards, consultants must have achieved a minimum of four local awards to become eligible.

The NI Clinical Excellence Awards Scheme 2012-2013 sets out in detail the rules of the scheme, including the eligibility criteria and covers both the higher and lower levels of awards.

Northern Ireland Clinical Excellence Awards round 2010-2011 & 2011-2012

Clincial Excellence Awards were suspended for the 2010-2011 & 2011-2012 awards round.

Consultations on the decisions to suspend these awards rounds were undertaken.

Northern Ireland Clinical Excellence Awards round 2012-2013 & 2013-2014

It has been decided that no new clinical excellence awards (higher or lower) will be made to medical and dental consultants in the 2012-2013 & 2013-2014 awards rounds.

Consultation on the decision to suspend these awards rounds were undertaken.

A consultation on future awards rounds and way forward will take place at a later stage.

NICEAC guidance on the scheme

Consultants' Nominal Roll

The Nominal Roll of consultants shows all known HSC consultants in Northern Ireland. It does not include locum consultants as they are not eligible to apply for Clinical Excellence Awards.

The Nominal Roll was updated in November 2015. Details of the 2010 Regional Awards and Local Awards are included.

Latest Nominal Roll

If any of the information held is incorrect, please advise us by contacting and include your GMC/GDC number in order to help us correctly identify your entry. Any corrections will be made when the nominal roll is next updated on the website.

Successful Applicants

A full list of all award holders may be found in the current annual report.


Back to top