Extension to the Term of the Non-Executive Chair and Appointment of a Non-Executive Director to the Belfast Health and Social Care Trust

Date published: 10 February 2022

Health Minister Robin Swann, has announced an extension to the term of the Non-Executive Chair and the appointment of a Non-Executive Director to the Belfast Health and Social Care Trust (BHSCT).

doh public appointments

Mr Peter McNaney’s extension to the term of his appointment as Non-Executive Chair will commence on 3 March 2022 and end on a date not later than 2 December 2022.  Professor Carmel Hughes’ appointment as the Non-Executive (QUB Representative) Director commenced on 1 January 2022 and will end on a date not later than 31 December 2025.  

The Non–Executive Chair position attracts an annual remuneration of £37,641 with a time commitment of 3 days per week. The Non-Executive Director position attracts an annual remuneration of £8,555 with a time commitment of 1 day per week.

These appointments have been made in accordance with the Code of Practice issued by the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland.

The BHSCT is one of five Health and Social Care Trusts established as statutorily separate organisations within the HSC family, responsible for the delivery of responsive and effective health and care services and for the ownership and management of hospitals and other establishments and facilities. Although Trusts are statutorily separate organisations, they are an integral part of the HSC and are expected to deliver against an agenda set by the Minister.

The Board of the BHSCT comprises of a Non–Executive Chair and 7 Non- Executive Directors along with 5 Executive Directors including the Chief Executive.

Notes to editors: 

  1. Professor Carmel Hughes is Professor of Primary Care Pharmacy and former Head of the School of Pharmacy at Queen’s University Belfast.  She was the first pharmacist to have been appointed to a Harkness Fellowship in Healthcare Policy, the only pharmacist to receive a Primary Care Career Scientist Award and a former Cochrane Fellow.  Her research interests centre on prescribing in older people, intervention development and evidence-based healthcare.   Her work has been funded by the National Institute for Health Research, the Alzheimer’s Society, the Dunhill Medical Trust, The Health and Social Care Research and Development Division, the Health Research Board and Atlantic Philanthropies.  She is an Editor for the Effective Practice and Organisation of Care (EPOC) Cochrane review group and Senior Editor of Pilot and Feasibility Studies.  She has been appointed to Sub-Panel 3 as part of the Research Excellence Framework (REF) 2021 exercise, an assessment of research undertaken in United Kingdom universities.
  2. Mr Peter McNaney has served as the Chair of the Belfast Trust for the last 7 years. Prior to joining the Trust Peter worked as a Solicitor for 20 years and the Chief Executive of Belfast City Council for 13 years. Peter also serves as unpaid member of the Council of the University of Ulster and was reappointed as a Non-Executive Member of the Board of Northern Ireland Water in 2020 for which he is paid £18000 per annum with a time commitment of 4 days per month.
  3. Appointments to the BHSCT are made with the approval of the Health Minister.
  4. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland requires the political activity of appointees to be published. The appointees have declared that they have not engaged in any political activity in the last five years.
  5. Professor Carmel Hughes has advised that she does not currently hold any other public appointments.
  6. For media enquiries please contact DoH Press Office by e-mail               pressoffice@health-ni.gov.uk
  7. Follow us on Twitter @healthdpt8. The Executive Information Service operates an out of hours service for Media Enquiries Only between 1800hrs and 0800hrs Monday to Friday and at weekends and public holidays. The Duty Press Officer can be contacted on 028 9037 8110.

Share this page

Back to top