Northern Ireland to remove all countries from red travel list

Date published: 14 December 2021

Northern Ireland is to remove all countries from its Red List for travel in line with a decision taken by all UK regions following a meeting of Ministers today.

The red list was reintroduced in late November as a precaution after the emergence of the Omicron variant.

The move comes into effect from 4am on Wednesday 15th December.

The removal of the countries from the Red list will be implemented by way of an amendment to the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) Regulations (NI) 20201.

The 11 countries to be removed from the red list are Angola, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Pre-Departure Testing (PDT) for vaccinated arrivals over 12 year olds 2 days prior to starting the first leg of their journey to Northern Ireland remain in place as does the requirement for vaccinated non-red list arrivals to self-isolate and take a day 2 PCR test.

Arrivals must also remain in isolation until either they get a negative result from the day 2 PCR test or they remain in self-isolation for 10 days from their arrival in Northern Ireland if their day 2 test result is positive.

Notes to editors: 

1. For media enquiries please contact DoH Press Office by email:

2. Follow us on Twitter @healthdpt

3. The Executive Information Service operates an out of hours service For Media Enquiries Only between 1800hrs and 0800hrs Monday to Friday and at weekends and public holidays. The duty press officer can be contacted on 028 9037 8110.

Share this page

Back to top