Extensions of three non-executive Directors to the Business Services Organisation (BSO)

Date published: 27 July 2016

Health Minister Michelle O’Neill today announced the extension of appointment of three Non-Executive Directors, Mr Brian McMurray, Mr Sean Mahon, and Mr Gerald Strong to the Business Services Organisation (BSO) for a further six month term from 1 April 2016.

Non-Executive Directors of the BSO receive annual remuneration of £5,402 for a time commitment of three days per month.

BSO provides a broad range of support functions for the health and social care service, bringing together services which are common to bodies or persons engaged in providing health or social services which include:

Administrative support, advice and assistance;
Financial services;
Human resource, personnel and corporate services;
Estate management and maintenance of buildings, equipment and land;
Information Technology, and Information Management;
Procurement of goods and services;
Legal services; and
Contractual compliance, internal audit and fraud prevention

The board of BSO comprises of four executive members, a Non-Executive Chair and eight Non-Executive Directors, including one Trade Union representative and seven Lay Members.

These extensions were made in accordance with the Code of Practice issued by the Commissioner for Public Appointment for NI.

Notes to editors: 

  1. Mr Brian McMurray (Lay Member) lives in Limavady. He has held Chief Executive Management roles in RHM Bakeries, Courtauld Textiles and Abbicoil Springs. He has also served as a Non-Executive on Causeway Trust and Ulster Supported Employment Limited. Mr McMurray was initially appointed as a Lay Member to the Business Services Organisation for a four year term from 1 April 2009. He holds no other public appointments.
  2. Mr Sean Mahon (Lay Member) lives in Lisburn, and is currently serves as a director of a number of specialist healthcare and IT/telecommunications related businesses throughout the UK and Europe. He is also currently the Chairman of St Mary's Grammar school in Belfast. Sean has served as a Non-Executive Director for the BSO since 2009 and was previously a Non-Executive Director of the Central Service Agency from 2004 until its transition into the BSO.
  3. Mr Gerald (Gerry) Strong (Lay Member) lives in Omagh and retired from his post as Principal of St Joseph’s High School in August 2007 where he was responsible for the organisation and management of the school in the educational, emotional, physical and religious development of the pupils. He holds PG Certificates in Electronics and Computing and a Diploma in Management. He is an Independent Board Member to the Department of Education ECB Body and a Professional Associate of CCEA.  In April 2015 he was appointed as an Independent Assessor (I.A.) for the Commissioner for Public Appointments (CPANI).
  4. Extensions to the BSO are made with the approval of the Health Minister. There are no specific qualifications for appointment. Each person is appointed to act in a personal capacity and not represent any particular interest or group.
  5. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, the Commissioner for Public Appointments for NI requires the political activity of appointees to be published. All Non-Executive Directors being re-appointed declared that they had not engaged in any political activity in the last five years.
  6. Media enquiries to DoH Press Office on 028 9052 0579. Out of office hours please contact the Duty Press Officer via pager number 076 9971 5440 and your call will be returned. Follow us on Twitter @healthdpt

Share this page

Back to top