Extensions to the Terms of Three Non-Executive Members of the Northern Ireland Blood Transfusion Service

Date published: 17 December 2021

Health Minister Robin Swann has announced extensions to the terms of three Non-Executive Members of the Northern Ireland Blood Transfusion Service (NIBTS).

doh public appointments

Mr Ian Henderson’s appointment as Non-Executive Lay Member has been extended from 21 November 2021 to a date not later than 20 February 2022. Mrs Lorraine Lindsay’s appointment as Non-Executive Lay Member has been extended from 7 November 2021 to a date not later than 6 February 2022.  Mr Philip Cathcart’s appointment as Non- Executive Finance Member has been extended from 5 November 2021 to a date not later than 4 February 2022. 

The Non-Executive Member position attracts an annual remuneration of

£3,170 with a time commitment of 20 days per annum.

These appointments are made in accordance with the Code of Practice issued by the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland.

NIBTS is an independent, Special Agency of the Department of Health which exists to fully supply the needs of all hospitals and clinical units in the province with safe and effective blood and blood products and other related services. The discharge of this function includes a commitment to the care and welfare of voluntary donors. NIBTS is managed by a Senior Management Team, led by a Chief Executive, which reports to a Board.

The NIBTS Board is made up of five Directors including the Chief Executive, a Non-Executive Chair and three Non-Executive Members.

Notes to editors: 

  1. Mr Ian Henderson OBE was first appointed to NIBTS as a Non-Executive Lay Member in February 2011. Mr Henderson was employed by TTC International Ltd as Managing Partner UK from 2000 to 2018. From 1992 to 2000, he was employed as Chief Executive of the Northern Ireland Tourist Board and had previously spent many years in the tourism industry. Mr Henderson is currently a Board member and former Chair of Bangor Grammar School. He brings to this role his wide experience of management of public sector bodies, together with considerable experience of marketing and communication in both the public and private sectors. 
  2. Mrs Lorraine Lindsay has been a Non-Executive Lay Member of NIBTS since February 2011 and she chairs the Governance and Risk Management sub-committee. Mrs Lindsay has worked for over 20 years in Health & Social Care and the field of Health Promotion. This role enabled her to work closely with local communities and individuals on improving health and wellbeing. Latterly, her role as a senior manager in Public Health brought responsibility for the strategic development and operational implementation of the Investing for Health Strategy, across the Eastern Area and particularly in North Down & Ards. Mrs Lindsay brings her skills of organisational leadership, financial management and strategic and business planning to her role. Mrs Lindsay has gained additional knowledge and expertise during her time with NIBTS, particularly in the areas of quality management, blood collection, testing and production.
  3. Mr Philip Cathcart graduated from Queen’s University Belfast in 1973 with a B.Sc (Econ) and joined Coopers & Lybrand (now PWC). He qualified as a Chartered Accountant and worked for Ergas (later to become Flogas plc) and later Calor Gas Ireland as Head of Finance and HR. He was also a director of the Calor Group Pension Fund based in Leamington Spa. Mr Cathcart retired from the Calor Group in 2005 and has since been working as a consultant to some small businesses. Since 1980 he has been a director of JB Anderson Limited, a property company. Mr Cathcart was a governor of the Lisburn Institute of Further Education from 1996 to 2004 and was chairman of the Finance Committee and Vice Chairman of the Board of Governors. He has been a Non-Executive Member of the board of NIBTS since 2012 and has served as chairman of the Audit Committee during that time.
  4. Appointments to NIBTS are made with the approval of the Health Minister.
  5. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland requires the political activity of appointees to be published.  The three appointees have declared that they have not engaged in any political activity in the last five years.
  6. The three appointees have advised that they do not currently hold any other public appointments.
  7. For media enquiries please contact DoH Press Office by email: pressoffice@health-ni.gov.uk.
  8. Follow us on Twitter @healthdpt
  9. The Executive Information Service operates an out of hours service for media enquiries only between 1800hrs and 0800hrs Monday to Friday and at weekends and public holidays. The duty press officer can be contacted on 028 9037 8110.

This is an automated distribution service - please do not reply to this email address.
If you wish to unsubscribe from this service please email EIS.info@executiveoffice-ni.gov.uk

Share this page

Back to top