Extensions of eight non-executive directors to Health and Social Care Trusts

Date published: 27 July 2016

Health Minister Michelle O’Neill today announced the extensions of the terms of appointment of eight Non-Executive Directors for a further 12 months from 1 April 2016 to 31 March 2017 across the Southern, South Eastern and Northern Health and Social Care Trusts.

The extensions for South Eastern Health and Social Care Trust Non-Executive Directors relate to Francesca Graham, Nigel Mansley, and John Trethowan.

The extensions for the Southern Health and Social Care Trust Non-Executive Directors relate to Edwin Graham, Elizabeth Mahood, and Raymond Mullan.

The extensions for the Northern Health and Social Care Trust Non-Executive Directors relate to Carol Ackah and Jim Moore.

All of these extensions carry a time commitment of one day per week and attract an annual remuneration of £7,960.

The five HSC Trusts were established in 2007 responsible for the delivery of responsive and effective health and care services and for the ownership and management of hospitals and other establishments and facilities.

Each HSC Trust in the north of Ireland is managed directly by a Board of Directors which has corporate responsibility for its operation. The Board is made up of five executive Directors and seven non-executive directors and a non-executive chair.  Executive directors and non-executive directors are full and equal members of the Board.

The appointments are made in accordance with the Code of Practice issued by the Commissioner for Public Appointments for NI. A selection panel, which included an Independent Assessor as required under the Commissioner’s Code, considered the suitability of all candidates. The final decision on the appointment rested with the Minister.

Notes to editors: 

  1. Francesca Graham is a  former business partner in the private sector. Francesca was a member then Vice Chairman of SEELB. She is a former member of the Police Authority and a former member and Deputy Chairman of the Probation Board for NI. She was a Director of the Police Fund (NIPF) and was also a Non-Executive Director of EHSSB. She was an interim member and Vice Chairman of the Fire and Rescue Service (NIFRS). Miss Graham has been an Independent Assessor for the Commissioner for Public Appointments and a lay panel member of the Industrial Tribunals and Fair Employment Tribunal. Miss Graham was first appointed to the South Eastern HSC Trust on 1st April 2007.
  2. Mr Nigel Mansley is an Accountant by profession. He has been a self-employed management consultant, specialising in corporate training and change management. His experience as a management consultant is enhanced by his senior board-level executive experience gained with major UK businesses such as BUPA and Road Chef PLC where he was Head of Finance and Group Finance Director respectively. He is a member of the Ulster Society of Chartered Accountants. He also brings experience from performance improvement consultancy work within NHS England over a number of years.  He was previously a Non-Executive Director of Sperrin Lakeland HSC Trust. He was first appointed to the South Eastern HSC Trust on 1 April 2007.
  3. Mr John Trethowan MBA lives in Lisbane. He is a Non-Executive Director of the NI Transport Holding Company. He is a board member of Business in the Community (Ireland) and has been a member of the Taoiseach’s task force on Active Citizenship in 2006/07. He brings to his role as a Non- Executive Director on the South Eastern Trust his extensive boardroom experience in both executive and non-executive roles, with particular focus on governance, financial and commercial areas of the Board’s work. Previously he was an Executive Director of the National Irish bank until 2007. He was recently President of the Institute of Bankers in Ireland and Chair of the National Irish Bank Pension Trustees Ltd.
  4. Mr Edwin Graham BSc lives in Lurgan. Mr Graham is a member of the Pharmacy Practices Committee of the Health and Social Care Board. He was previously Director of Lurgan Council for Voluntary Action and he was a Member of the Parades Commission in 2011. His background is in community development, community relations and interfaith relations. In a voluntary capacity Mr Graham serves as a Trustee of Enable NI - a charity that provides respite opportunities for people with learning difficulties. He is also secretary of the NI Interfaith Forum. He holds no other public appointments.
  5. Mrs Elizabeth Mahood BA lives in Armagh. She is Financial Director of Belfast-based heating equipment company Elf Combustion Limited, and General Manager of MacFarlane Environmental specialising in renewable heating products. She is a member of Business & Professional Women and is a School Governor. She is Chairperson of the Audit Committee and was first appointed to the Southern HSC Trust on 1 April 2007.
  6. Dr Raymond Mullan OBE lives in Warrenpoint and served as Director and Chief Executive of Newry & Kilkeel College of Further Education until 2007.  He also served as Interim Director & Chief Executive of Belfast Metropolitan College during 2008 and 2009.  He has held a number of public appointments including NI Civil Service Commissioner, lay Commissioner on the NI Judicial Appointments Commission. He is currently President of the Warrenpoint Burren Rostrevor (WBR) Credit Union and is a life member of Newry Chamber of Commerce. He was appointed to the Southern Health and Social Care Trust in 2007 and brings an extensive experience and knowledge of managing major organisations to his Board role enabling him to contribute to the strategic direction of the Trust.
  7. Dr Carol Ackah lives in Lambeg and is a self-employed consultant in Human Resource Management, having formerly been a lecturer at the University of Ulster. She was a non-executive director of United Hospitals HSS Trust and is also an arbitrator for the Labour Relations Agency and an Industrial Tribunal panel member. Carol is the Chair of the Trust’s User Feedback Committee and is also a member of the Remuneration Committee. Dr Ackah was first appointed to the Northern HSC Trust on 1 April 2007 and has served as Vice-Chairman since 2014.
  8. Mr Jim Moore lives in Carrickfergus and is Professional Head of Signaling and Telecoms for NI Railways which is an operating company of Translink. He was previously Operations Manager at Richardson's Fertiliser Industries. He is also a Director of Sentinus, a registered charity promoting training in science, engineering and maths in schools in the north of Ireland. He is chair of the Audit Committee. He is also chair of the Endowments and Gifts Committee. Mr Moore was first appointed to the Northern HSC Trust on 1 April 2007.
  9. Extensions to appointments to the Health and Social Care Trusts are made with the approval of the Minister for Health. There are no specific qualifications for appointment. Each person is appointed to act in a personal capacity and not to represent any particular interest or group.
  10. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, the Commissioner for Public Appointments for NI requires the political activity of appointees to be published. All appointees have declared they have not engaged in any political activity in the last five years.
  11. Media enquiries to DoH Press Office on 028 9052 0579. Out of office hours please contact the Duty Press Officer via pager number 076 9971 5440 and your call will be returned. Follow us on Twitter @healthdpt

Share this page

Back to top