Extensions to terms of three non-executive members of the Health and Social Care Regulation & Quality Improvement Authority (RQIA)

Date published: 03 January 2020

The Department of Health has announced extensions to the terms of appointment for three Non-Executive Members of the Regulation & Quality Improvement Authority (RQIA).

Public Appointments Image

The appointments of Ms Lindsey Smith (Lay), Mrs Sarah Havlin (Legal) and Mr Denis Power (Finance) have been extended for 12 months from 19 December 2019 to a date not later than 18 December 2020.

Non-Executive Members of the RQIA receive an annual remuneration of £6,202, and the role carries a time commitment of 2-3 days per month.

All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process.  However, the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland requires the political activity of appointees to be published. All appointees declared that they have not engaged in political activity in the last five years.

All reappointments are made in accordance with the Code of Practice issued by the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland.

The RQIA is the independent body responsible for monitoring and inspecting the availability and quality of health and social care services in Northern Ireland, and encouraging improvements in the quality of those services.  Their role is to ensure that health and social care services in Northern Ireland are accessible, well managed and meet the required standards.  The RQIA was established under The Health and Personal Social Services (Quality, Improvement and Regulation) (Northern Ireland) Order 2003. Leadership of RQIA is provided by a Chief Executive and an executive team with Directors of Assurance and Improvement. As an Arm’s Length Body, RQIA Board currently comprises an Acting Chair and eight Non-Executive Directors.

Notes to editors: 

  1. Ms Lindsey Smith was appointed to RQIA’s board in December 2011, and reappointed for a further four years in December 2015.  She is a member of RQIA's audit committee.  Lindsey is a self-employed organisational development consultant, executive coach and experienced facilitator, and a part-time associate lecturer at Ulster University and Queens University, Belfast.  Lindsey is also a board member for the Health and Safety Executive Northern Ireland.
  1. Mrs Sarah Havlin was appointed to RQIA's Board in December 2011, and was reappointed for a further four-year term in December 2015.  Sarah is a member of RQIA’s appointments and remuneration committee and the appointment panel for Part 2 and Part 4 doctors.  She is a solicitor by profession, and is currently the Northern Ireland Certification Officer for Trade Unions and Employers’ Associations - a regulatory and judicial role within industrial relations.  Sarah also acts as an independent adjudicator and arbitrator across a range of legal proceedings, including as an independent assessor for complaints and serious adverse incidents for the Health and Social Care Board.
  1. Mr Denis Power was appointed to RQIA’s board in December 2011 and re-appointed for a further four years in December 2015. Denis is chair of RQIA’s audit committee and a member of the appointment panel for Part 2 and Second Opinion Appointed Doctors (SOADs). Prior to his retirement, Denis held senior management positions in the banking sector. He is currently The Independent Board Member at The Executive Office, a trustee of Titanic Foundation Ltd and a Director of Springboard Opportunities Ltd. Denis chairs the audit and risk committees in all of these organisations. 
  1. The reappointments were made with the approval of the Department of Health.  There are no specific qualifications for appointment. 
  2. For media enquiries please contact DOH Press Office on 028 9052 0579 or email pressoffice@health-ni.gov.uk. For out of office please contact the Duty Press Officer on 028 9037 8110. 
  3. Follow us on twitter @healthdpt

Share this page

Back to top